Children's Book Prizes in a Year

Publish Date : Wednesday 15 January 2014 - 13:42
A look at children’s book prizes in 2013 will indeed be a chance for book lovers to review noted children’s books and prizes throughout the world.

IBNA: The following is a list of the famous children's book prizes. 
US Significant Children’s Literature Prizes 

Every year, the American Library Association (ALA) announces recipients of its top awards in children's literature. In 2013 Katherine Applegate and illustrator Patricia Castelao Costa’s ‘The One and Only Ivan’ - in which a strip mall dwelling gorilla and baby elephant bond over shared loves of art and nature - was awarded the John Newbery Medal for "most distinguished contribution to American literature for children." 

The ALA's award for distinguished illustration, the Randolph Caldecott Medal, celebrated its 75th anniversary with a win for #1 New York Times bestseller Jon Classen’s ‘This is Not My Hat’. Hat’s vivid cartooning details the humorous underwater theft of a large fish’s tiny bowler hat by a far smaller sea dweller. 

British Illustrious Literary Awards 

Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals (CILIP)’s Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Medals are the UK's oldest and most prestigious children's book awards. 

In 2013 'Maggot Moon' by Sally Gardner won the Carnegie medal for a book starring dyslexic hero Standish, who takes on a sinister dictatorship while friends and family disappear. 

Levi Pinfold won the Kate Greenaway award for his illustrations in 'Black Dog' in which a little girl named Small Hope shows her family that there is nothing to be afraid of in the arrival of a seemingly fearsome stray dog. 

Andrew Carnegie Medal 

Richard Ford’s ‘Canada,’ a sweeping novel of familial dysfunction and northern landscape, won the 2013 American Library Association’s Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in fiction. 

In non-fiction, the library organization chose Timothy Egan’s ‘Short Night of the Shadow Catcher,’ a biography of 19th century photographer Edward Curtis. 

The Largest Prize in the Children’s Book World 

Argentinean author, illustrator, and musician Isol won the 2013 annual Astrid Lindgren Memorial Prize. 

Isol, the pen name for Marisol Misenta, is the creator of more than a dozen books for children. She was chosen from a field of 207 nominated candidates from 67 countries, including authors, artists, literary advocates, and organizations. 

“Isol writes picture books from the eye level of a child,” wrote the jury. “Her pictures vibrate with energy and explosive emotions."
The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award, which is given by the Swedish Arts Council, is the largest prize in the children’s book world; the winner receives five million Swedish crowns. 

Coretta Scott King Book Award 

The Coretta Scott King Award is an annual award presented by the Ethnic & Multicultural Information Exchange Round Table, part of the American Library Association (ALA). 

Named for Coretta Scott King, wife of Martin Luther King, Jr., this award recognizes outstanding African American authors and illustrators, and is awarded for books about the African-American experience that are written for a youth audience (high school or below). 

Andrea Davis Pinkney, author of ‘Hand in Hand: Ten Black Men Who Changed America,’ and Bryan Collier, illustrator of ‘I, Too, Am America,’ were the winners of the 2013 Coretta Scott King Book Awards. 

Red House Children's Book Award 

The Red House Children's Book Award is a set of annual literary prizes for children's books published in the U.K. during the preceding school year. It recognizes one "Overall" winner and one book in each of three categories: Books for Younger Children, Books for Younger Readers, and Books for Older Readers. The selections are made entirely by school children, which is unique among British literary awards. 

The Winners of the 2013 Red House Children’s Book Award were, ‘Spooky Spooky House’ by Andrew Weale and Lee Wildish in the Younger Children category, ‘Gangsta Granny’ by David Walliams, illustrated by Tony Ross in the Younger Readers category, ‘The Medusa Project: Hit Squad’ by Sophie McKenzie in the Older Readers category. 

The award for the overall winner went to ‘Spooky Spooky House’ by Andrew Weale and Lee Wildish. 

Blue Peter Book Awards 

The Blue Peter Book Awards are a set of literary awards for children's books conferred by the BBC television program Blue Peter. 

In 2013 hundreds of children from schools across the country chose ‘Tom Gates: Genius Ideas, Mostly’ by Liz Pichon as the winner of the Blue Peter Book Award for Best Story and ‘Horrible Science: House of Horrors’ by Nick Arnold and Tony De Saulles as the winner of the Best Book with Facts. 

Peter Pan Prize
The International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY) Sweden awarded 2013 Peter Pan Prize to ‘Naku, Nakuu, Nakuuu!,’ written by Nanoy Rafael with illustrations by Sergio Bumatay. 

Peter Pan Prize was established in 2000 by IBBY Sweden and the Göteborg Book Fair. The prize is awarded annually to a book for children or young adults of high quality in both literary and subject terms. 

Margaret Mahy Award 

The Margaret Mahy Award, officially the Storylines Margaret Mahy Medal and Lecture Award, is a New Zealand literary prize presented to a person who has made a significant contribution to children's literature, publishing or literacy. Presented annually since 1991 by the Storylines Children’s Literature Charitable Trust of New Zealand, the award is named in honor of its first recipient, Margaret Mahy.

In 2013 Ted Dawe’s book ‘Into the River’ bagged the award. 

‘A Boy and a Bear in a Boat’ Win Branford Boase Award 

Author Dave Shelton and his editor David Fickling won the 2013 Branford Boase award for outstanding debut children's novel with ‘A Boy and a Bear in a Boat.’ 

Shelton paid tribute to the "important role" of an editor for a debut author. 

The Branford Boase award is unique in recognizing the author and editor together, paying special attention to the editor's art of nurturing new talent.

Story Code: 191532